NIES 2024 to Launch Nigerian Petroleum Producers’ Forum

New Session Aims to Empower Independent Energy Sector Amidst Dynamic Changes

by Oluwatosin Racheal Alabi

The 7th Nigeria International Energy Summit (NIES 2024) is set to introduce a pioneering session, the Nigerian Petroleum Producers’ Forum, under the sub-theme “Innovation, Collaboration, and Resilience: Empowering Independent Producers in the Dynamic Energy Era.” This significant addition to the summit aims to provide a critical platform for dialogue and exchange among industry leaders, addressing the challenges and opportunities that independent energy producers face in the rapidly evolving energy landscape.

Scheduled for February 19, 2024, this session promises to draw attention to the necessity for innovation, collaboration, and resilience among independent producers, crucial for navigating the complexities of today’s energy sector. The forum will feature an impressive lineup of speakers and panelists, including industry experts and executives from leading energy companies. Abdulrazaq Isa, the Chairman of the Independent Petroleum Producers Group (IPPG)/Waltersmith Group, is set to deliver the opening keynote speech, setting the tone for a day of insightful discussions and exchanges.

Osagie Okunbor, Country Chair/CEO of Shell Companies in Nigeria and Chairman of the Oil Producers Trade Section (OPTS), will provide special remarks, highlighting the strategic importance of collaboration within the industry. Additionally, keynote speeches will be presented by Engr. Gbenga Komolafe, Commission Chief Executive Officer of the Nigerian Upstream Petroleum Regulatory Commission (NUPRC), and Senator Heineken Lokpobiri, Minister of State for Petroleum Resources (Oil), offering governmental perspectives on supporting the independent energy sector.

The panel discussion promises to be a highlight of the session, with participation from a diverse group of industry leaders such as Adegbite Falade, CEO of Aradel Holdings Plc; Henry Mankiti, CEO of Sahara Energy; Austin Avuru, Executive Chairman of Platform Petroleum Ltd/Chairman of AA Holdings Limited; Matthieu Bouyer, CEO of TotalEnergies; Shane Harris, CEO of ExxonMobil Nigeria; Adewale Tinubu, GCEO of Oando Plc; Rick Kennedy, Chairman/MD of Chevron Nigeria; and Mrs. Oritsemeyiwa Eyesan, Executive Vice President (E & P) of NNPC Limited.

The forum will delve into various critical areas, including the current challenges confronting independent energy producers, strategies for fostering innovation and resilience, and the role of policy interventions in supporting the sector’s growth. It aims to encourage knowledge sharing, highlight successful practices from different regions, and identify actionable strategies that can enhance the competitiveness and sustainability of independent producers.

James Shindi, Chief Executive of Brevity Anderson, the event organizers, emphasized the session’s goal to drive cooperation and collaboration among industry leaders, thereby empowering independent producers and fostering a resilient and sustainable energy landscape in Nigeria.

The Nigerian Petroleum Producers’ Forum at NIES 2024 represents a unique opportunity for stakeholders in Nigeria’s energy sector to come together, share insights, and work collaboratively towards addressing the pressing challenges of today and seizing the opportunities of tomorrow. It underscores the summit’s commitment to advancing the growth and development of the independent energy sector in Nigeria through dialogue, innovation, and strategic partnerships.

You may also like

white logo new

Energy News Africa Plus is dedicated to illuminating the vast expanses of Africa’s energy industry.

Editors' Picks

Latest Stories

© 2024 Energy News Africa Plus. All Rights Reserved.